Wk 5-Activity-Counterfactual Identity

who am iThis week’s activity of counterfactual identity was interesting and quite entertaining to do. I loved the fact that we were able to take on a different identity because once I turned into my character of this high-class, valley girl my entire day was no longer the regular day in the life of Emily Bondoc. To begin with, my personality/fashion is very laid back. I don’t mind dressing up, but I always prefer to dress down as much as possible. So taking on my alter ego as high-class, valley girl, I started off my day quite slow to get my eyeliner right and to see which “designer” bag I wanted to use that would compliment my outfit. After getting everything together, I had my little outfit together: jean jacket, short floral printed dress, high-heeled boots, and a Michael Kors handbag. As I headed out of the house, I made a pit stop at Starbucks before making my way to school. It was there where my counterfactual identity first became exposed to other people. Taking on the “valley girl” accent with a little bit of attitude, I ordered my venti passion fruit iced tea sweetened with strawberry. When the barista asked for my name, I briefly explained (in character) to the barista what I was doing for this class. After explaining, I had the barista guess what my name and major is and she went with Rachel majoring in Fashion. Haha totes! 🙂  Once I got to school, I got a lot of curious looks from people when they saw me walking around campus wearing my high-heeled boots with Starbucks in hand. I approached some people and I got names like “Daisy” and “Regina” and “Victoria” with majority thinking I was majoring in Fashion, Communications, or Psychology. It was extremely entertaining to hear the feedback from people when they found out I’m a Business major because you wouldn’t expect a girl in a skimpy dress with high-heeled boots to be taking her life that seriously. This activity really opened my eyes to how stereotypical society has become. Is there a way to change that? We’ll never know, but what we do know is that people will always refer to and will 100% believe in what pop culture has to say about certain individuals in the society we live in.

BEFORE.

BEFORE.

BEFORE.

BEFORE.

AFTER.

AFTER.

AFTER.

AFTER.

AFTER.

AFTER.

Leave a Reply

